

COUNCIL MINUTES

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 25 MAY 2022



PRESENT

The Mayor – Councillor Emma Apthorp Deputy Mayor – Councillor Daryl Brown

Councillors:

Jose Afonso Sharon Holder Patricia Quigley Aliva Afzal-Khan Lisa Homan Rowan Ree Paul Alexander Laura Janes Lucy Richardson Andrew Jones Stala Antoniades Helen Rowbottom Alex Karmel Alexandra Sanderson Emma Apthorp Victoria Brocklebank-Fowler Bora Kwon Max Schmid Trey Campbell-Simon Adam Peter Lang Asif Siddique Florian Chevoppe-Verdier Amanda Lloyd-Harris Nikos Souslous Ben Coleman Ross Ross Dominic Stanton Liz Collins Omid Miri Sally Taylor Stephen Cowan Genevieve Nwaogbe Frances Umeh Jacolyn Daly Adrian Pascu-Tulbure Mercy Umeh Andrew Dinsmore Ashok Patel Rory Vaughan Patrick Walsh Wesley Harcourt Natalia Perez Rebecca Harvey Zarar Qayyum

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Adronie Alford, Jackie Borland, Daryl Brown, David Morton, Ann Rosenberg, and Nicole Trehy.

2. MAYOR'S/CHIEF EXECUTIVE'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

There were no declarations of interest.

4. FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

8.06pm – The report and recommendations were moved for adoption by the Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Cowan.

The report and recommendations were put to the vote:

FOR UNANIMOUS

AGAINST 0 NOT VOTING 0

The report and recommendations were declared **CARRIED**.

Following the vote, speeches on the report were made by Councillors Stephen Cowan, Jacolyn Daly, Rory Vaughan, and Laura Janes (for the Administration) – and Councillors Victoria Brocklebank-Fowler and Alex Karmel (for the Opposition).

8.06pm - RESOLVED

.....

That the Council confer the Freedom of the Borough of the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham on:

Daphine Aikens MBE

In recognition of her selflessly serving the residents of this Council through the H&F Foodbank which was set up in 2010. The Foodbank through its four locations feeds over 120,000 people via food parcels plus provides holiday clubs, cooking skills courses, counselling and advice provision that has helped so many people resolve the root causes of their crisis and move out of poverty.

William Hunter

In recognition of his huge contribution of voluntary work in the civic life in the Borough over the last four decades, including as a school governor and chair of governors at Lady Margaret School, board member and chair at Riverside Studios and voluntary service to local politics.

Ms Hanora 'Nora' McCool

In recognition of her selfless service to the children of the Borough, first as a childminder for over 17 years and then as foster carer. Over the course of her fostering career, she has fostered 240 children. She has remained a dedicated foster carer, being known never to turn away a child or family in need of support. Ms McCool has extensive experience and is committed to caring for children and young people.

Frances Stainton

In recognition of her selflessly serving the residents of this Borough for 32 consecutive years as a Councillor in various positions and acting as a community champion for the area.

Meeting started: 8.05 pm Meeting ended: 9.04 pm

Mayor